Board of the General Assembly


The Board of the General Assembly (BGA) is a part of the International Union of Physiological Sciences (IUPS), responsible to the IUPS General Assembly (GA) and its Executive Council, and operates under the auspices of the IUPS Constitution and Bylaws.

    The BGA was established for the following three purposes:

  1. To increase and expand the ability of the GA to play continuing, active roles in the management and operation of IUPS during the periods between the quadrennial full meetings of the GA that take place at IUPS Congresses.
  2. To contribute to increased and wider participation in organizational direction and policy- making through a reasonable balance in its membership between representatives of both the larger and smaller participating societies in IUPS and between representatives from the different regions of the world.
  3. To have rights and responsibilities with respect to several areas of IUPS activity as specified.


 

 

India - Indian National Science Academy
Chair - Board of the General Assembly
Jayasree Sengupta
jsen47@gmail.com
Reproductive physiology, implantation

US - American Physiological Society
Vice-Chair - Board of the General Assembly
Sue Barman

Australia - Australian Physiological Society
David Allen
david.allen@sydney.edu.au
Website
Muscle damage, muscular dystrophy

Brazil - Brazilian Society of Physiology
Aldo Lucion
alucion@ufrgs.br
Website
Neuroendocrinology, longitudinal physiology

Bulgaria - Bulgarian Society of Physiological Science
Nina Belova
n_belova@abv.bg
Website
Hypertension, hormonal and autonomic control of renal and cardiovascular systems

France - Comité Français des Unions Scientifiques
Marc Zelter
marc.zelter@psl.aphp.fr
Website
Pulmonary microcirculation, inflammation, and edema

Finland - Finnish Physiological Society
Liisa Peltonen
liisa.m.peltonen@helsinki.fi
Website
Comparative physiology, physiology teaching

Hungary - Hungarian Physiological Society
László Csernoch
csl@edu.unideb.hu
Website
Calcium signaling, Excitation-contraction coupling

Korea - The Korean Physiological Society
Chae Hun Leem

Russia - Russian Academy of Sciences
Pavel Balaban
pmbalaban@gmail.com
Website
Synaptic transmission and plasticity

Russia - Russian Academy of Sciences
Ludmila Filaretova

South Africa - National Research Foundation
Siyanda Makaula
siyanda.makaula@wits.ac.za
Website
Cardiovascular physiology