The Council is composed of twenty individuals elected by the General Assembly. Five of the twenty individuals shall be the current officers of the Union. Eleven shall be the chairpersons of Commissions and Committees. Four shall be representatives of geographic regions, as defined by the Board of the General Assembly. The council is the legal representative of the Union and acts as its administrative body between meetings of the General Assembly. Semi-annually, Council meets with the Executive Committee by teleconference. More details on Council can be found in article V of the Constitution & Bylaws

The members of council 2017-2022

Antunes, Vagner (Brazil)

Regional Representative—North/South America

Bindels, René (Netherlands)

Commission V - Secretion & Absorption

Carroll, Robert (USA)

Education Committee

Chun, Yang-Sook (South Korea)

Commission VIII—Genomics and Biodiversity

Filaretova, Ludmila (Russia)

Commission III - Endocrine, Reproduction & Development

Hecker, Markus (Germany)

Regional Representative—Europe/Africa

Kainulainen, Heikki (Finland)

Commission I - Locomotion

Kubo, Yoshihiro (Japan)

Commission VI—Molecular and Cellular, Society Contact

Mattiazzi, Alicia (Argentina)

Commission II - Circulation & Respiration

Mikoshiba, Katsuhiko (Japan)

Commission IV - Neurobiology

Sofola, Olusoga “Soga” (Nigeria)

Regional Representative—At Large

Wang, Tobias (Denmark)

Commission VII—Comparative: Evolution, Adaptation and Environment

Wang, Xiaomin (China)

Regional Representative—Asia/Oceana, Society Contact