IUPS is proud of its Academy of Physiology, launched in 2021.

The Academy will represent the diversity and excellence of worldwide physiology.
As an international non-political organization, IUPS is the only body that represents the entire community of physiological researchers, teachers, and students.

Our mission is to advance physiological research and teaching and its translation into benefits for health and society. To achieve our mission, we have started forming an Academy.

Vision for the Academy

Our vision for the Academy is that it will be a resource for physiologists. In addition, it will be a source of information and contacts for journalists, funders, charities, politicians, allied health professionals or members of the public.

In consultation with the Fellows of The Academy, the IUPS Council will authorize statements for politicians and the press. Statement topics might include animal research, the significance of physiology, and, the reproducibility and integrity of biomedical data, and its importance to drug development and clinical trials.

The Academy will be a natural home for consensus papers on good practice in physiological research.

Honorary fellows and fellows

The Academy is composed of IUPS Honorary Fellows (Hon FIUPS) and Fellows (FIUPS).

Our highest honour is that of Honorary Fellow.  This is to those physiologists who have been awarded worldwide recognition and acclaim, such a recipients of the Noble Prize in Physiology or Medicine. It is expected that 2-6 such Hon FIUPS will be awarded each year by IUPS ExCo.

Our Honorary Fellows

Professor Peter C Agre, MD, Nobel Laureate, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, USA.

Professor Dr. Stefan W. Hell, Nobel Laureate, Max Planck Institute for Medical Research, Germany

Professor Dr. Dr. h.c. Erwin Neher, Nobel Laureate, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Germany.

IUPS is proud to announce that recently three more Nobel Lureates have accepted our invitation to become honorary fellows:

Professor David Julius (USA), Professor Ardem Patapoutian (USA) and Professor Sir Peter Ratcliffe!

The IUPS academy consists in addition of annually elected Fellows (FIUPS). These will signify physiologists and allied professionals, who have made exceptional contributions to physiological sciences. This can be in the form of significant original discovery, sustained excellent contributions to scholarship, or (exceptionally) those who in other ways have rendered a conspicuous service to physiology.

Fellows of IUPS Academy 2021


Frances Ashcroft UK
Sue Bodine USA
Maria Jose Campagnole-Santos Brazil
Barbara Cannon Sweden
Peter Carmeliet Belgium
Sumantra Chattarji India
Shu Chien USA
Allen Cowley USA
Sandra Davidge Canada
Dario DiFrancesco Italy
Anthony Ebeigbe Nigeria
Ingrid Fleming Germany
Laszlo Hunyady Hungary
Kamil Javorka Slovakia
Marian Joëls Holland
Haluk Kelestimur Turkey
Armin Kurtz Germany
Ramón Latorre Chile
Jens Leipziger Denmark
Tony Macknight New Zealand
Yasushi Miyashita Japan
Kathryn Myburgh S.Africa
Denis Noble UK
Akinori Noma Japan
Gavin Norton ┼ S.Africa
Ole Petersen UK
Tamara Rosenbaum Mexico
Amal Saeed Sudan
Bill Sessa USA
Hee-Sup Shin S.Korea

Fellows of IUPS Academy 2022

Kim Barrett,  USA

Fabio  Benfenati, Italy

Laura Bennet, New Zealand

Andrea  Calkovska ,  Slovakia

Marcello  Costa ,  Australia

Maria Claudia   da Costa Irigoyen  , Brazil

Jose Maria  Delgado-Garcia,  Spain

Barbara   Demeneix,     France

Annette Dolphin, UK

Dragan M   Djuric  , Serbia

Maria    Fitzgerald ,  UK

Marcia  Hiriart,  Mexico

Amira    Klip  ,  Canada

Oleg       Krishtal,  Ukraine

Michel   Lazdunski   ,    France

Eminy    Lee , Taiwan

Peng      Li  ,    China

Cheng Hwee       Ming,   Malaysia

Duncan Mitchell , South Africa

Kanigula  Mubagwa,    DRC

Mark  Nelson,  USA

Harunori  Ohmori, Japan

Luis    Sobrevia , Chile

Mike  Spyer UK

Tomoyuki   Takahashi,    Japan

Shaw-Jenq (Sean)    Tsai  ,  Taiwan

Matthew    Watt ,   Australia

Juleen    Zierath , Sweden

Irving     Zucker,   USA

We will have an annual call for proposals for elected Fellows. Membership will be limited to 30 new FIUPS each year.

IUPS welcomes the support our FIUPS can bring.

These FIUPS and Hon FIUPS  will help shape development of the IUPS Academy. Their advice on the best strategy and approaches for us to deliver on this vision for the benefit of the international physiological community is key to the Academy’s success.

The expertise and talents of our Academy Fellows can help IUPS, by consulting on specific IUPS activities and projects.